Schedule of Services

You are welcome to participate in our daily life, teaching of faith, rites and services. The Holy Communion – Eucharist, and therefore, the Communion line –  is reserved only for those who are baptized and chrismated Orthodox Christians who have prepared to reveice the Holy Gifts. Non-orthodox visitors are welcome to participate in the worship in the presence of Triune God, for example, by lighting candles, kissing holy icons and the Honored and Life-Giving Cross.

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Orthodox Church, please contact the parish office (address: Kauppakatu 32) or one of our priests.

”Brothers and Sisters! The all-merciful God desires happiness for us both in this life and in the life to come. To this end He established His Holy Church, so that she might cleanse us from sin, sanctify us, reconcile us with Him and give us a heavenly blessing. The embrace of the Church is always open to us. Let us all hasten their more quickly, we whose consciences are burdened. Let us hasten, and the Church will lift the weight of our burdens, give us boldness before God, and fill our hearts with happiness and blessedness.” 
St Nectarius of Aegina, the Path to Happiness 1

City centre

St Nicholas Church of Joensuu
Address: Kirkkokatu 32

Every Saturday:Vigil 6pm
Every Sunday: Divine Liturgy 10am

Feasts and Exceptions:

August

Sat 12 Aug 9am Divine liturgy (church slavonic)
Mon 14 Aug 5pm Vigil
Tues 15 Aug 9 am Divine liturgy, the Dormition (Falling Asleep) of the Theotokos (Uspenie)

September

Wed 6 Sep 5pm Vesper
Thu 7 Sep 5pm Vigil, Nativity of the Theotokos, Virgin Mary
Fri 8 Sep 9am Divine liturgy, Nativity of the Theotokos, Virgin Mary
Sat 9 Sep 9am Divine liturgy (church slavonic)
Wed 20 Sep 6pm Panikhida (memorial service for the departed)
Wed 27 Sep 5pm Vesper
Wed 4 Sep 5pm Vesper

October

Sat 7 Oct 9am Divine liturgy (church slavonic)
Wed 11 Oct 5pm Panikhida (memorial service for the departed)
Wed 18 Oct 5pm Akathist
Mon 23 Oct 9am Divine liturgy of St Apostle Jacob
Wed 25 Oct 5pm Vesper
Sun 29 Oct 10am Divine liturgy, feast in the parish after liturgy

November

Wed 1 Nov 5pm Vesper
Fri 3 Nov 5pm Vigil, Enlighters of Karelia
Sat 4 Nov 9am Divine liturgy, Enlighters of Karelia
Wed 8 Nov 5pm Panikhida (memorial service for the departed)
Sat 11 Nov 9am Divine liturgy (church slavonic)
Wed 15 Nov 5pm Akathist
Mon 20 Nov 5pm Vigil, Entrance of the Theotokos into the temple (the Presentation)
Tues 21 Nov 9am Divine liturgy, Entrance of the Theotokos into the temple (the Presentation)

Holy Cross Cemetery Chapel
Joensuu Orthodox Cemetery (Corner of Rauhankatu and Nurmeksentie)

Wed 16 Aug 5pm Vesper and Litany for departed
Wed 30 Aug 5pm Vesper and Litany for departed
Wed 13 Sep 5pm Vigil, Exaltation of the life-creating Cross
Thu 14 Sep 9am Small blessing of the waters and Divine liturgy, feast of the temple: Exaltation of the life-creating Cross
Fri 20 Oct 5pm Vesper and Litany for departed, Saturday of St Demetrios
Sat 21 Oct 9am Divine liturgy and Litany for departed, Saturday of St Demetrios

Orthodox Seminary – St John the Theologian and Enlighters of Karelia Church
Address: Torikatu 41
The Orthodox Seminary is the institute of the the Orthodox Church of Finland. Services are open to the public.

During the Academic Year (Except the Feasts):
Mon–Fri 7.20am Matin
Wed 7.20am Divine liturgy
Mon–Thur 5pm Vesper
The Paschal Triduum (the Great and Holy Week) of the Orthodox Seminary is rich. See further www.ort.fi/seminaari (only in Finnish)

Other Churches or Chapels (with own schedules)

Northern District:
Lieksa: Prophet Elijah Church, Transfiguration of Christ Chapel
Viekijärvi: St Nicholas Chapel
Vuonisjärvi: Dormition of the Theotokos Chapel
Kontiolahti: Ascension of Christ Church
Eno: Transfiguration of Christ Chapel
Sikrenvaara (Summer camp): Holy Enlighteners of Karelia Chapel
Lontsinniemi: Icon of the Mother of God of Konevitsa Chapel (private)

Eastern District:
Hoilola: St Nicholas Church
Sonkajanranta: Prophet Hannah Church
Tuupovaara: Icon of Christ Not-Made-By-Hands
Heinävaara: Icon of Christ Not-Made-By-Hands
Saarivaara: Transfiguration of Christ Chapel
Kovero: St Herman of Alaska Chapel

Southern District:
Kitee: St Nectarios Church
Honkavaara: St John the Baptist Chapel
Valkeavaara: St George Victory-bearer Chapel
Petravaara: St Andreas Chapel

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Comments are closed.