Schedule of Services

You are welcome to participate in our daily life, teaching of faith, rites and services. The Holy Communion – Eucharist, and therefore, the Communion line –  is reserved only for those who are baptized and chrismated Orthodox Christians who have prepared to reveice the Holy Gifts. Non-orthodox visitors are welcome to participate in the worship in the presence of Triune God, for example, by lighting candles, kissing holy icons and the Honored and Life-Giving Cross.

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Orthodox Church, please contact the parish office (address: Kauppakatu 32) or one of our priests.

”Brothers and Sisters! The all-merciful God desires happiness for us both in this life and in the life to come. To this end He established His Holy Church, so that she might cleanse us from sin, sanctify us, reconcile us with Him and give us a heavenly blessing. The embrace of the Church is always open to us. Let us all hasten their more quickly, we whose consciences are burdened. Let us hasten, and the Church will lift the weight of our burdens, give us boldness before God, and fill our hearts with happiness and blessedness.” 
St Nectarius of Aegina, the Path to Happiness 1

City centre

St Nicholas Church of Joensuu
Address: Kirkkokatu 32

Every Saturday:Vigil 6pm
Every Sunday: Divine Liturgy 10am

Feasts and Exceptions:

February:

Wed 22 Feb 5pm Moleben (Service of Supplication)
Sun 26 Feb 6pm Vesper of the Forgiveness Sunday
(Great Lent Feb 27‒15 Apr)
Mon 27 Feb 6pm Great Canon of Repentance by St. Andrew of Crete
Tues 28 Feb 6pm Great Canon of Repentance by St. Andrew of Crete

March:

Wed 1 Mar 6pm Great Canon of Repentance by St. Andrew of Crete
Thu 2 Mar 6pm Great Canon of Repentance by St. Andrew of Crete
Fri 3 Mar 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Wed 8 Mar 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Fri 10 Mar 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Wed 15 Mar 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Fri 17 Mar 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Wed 22 Mar 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Fri 24 Mar 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts; 6pm Vigil
Sat 25 Mar 9am Divine liturgy, Feast of the Annunciation of Our Most Holy lady, the Theotokos and Ever Virgin Mary; 6pm Vigil
Wed 29 Mar 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Fri 31 Mar 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts

April:

Sat 1 Apr 9am Divine Liturgy (teaching liturgy); 6 pm Vigil
Sun 2 Apr 10am Divine Liturgy; offering for OOL, i.e. the Association of (Finnish) Orthodox Students
Wed 5 Apr 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Thu 6 Apr 5pm Common Sacrament of the Holy Unction (Church slavonic; for the orthodox believers)
Fri 7 Apr 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Sat 8 Apr 9am Divine liturgy (church slavonic)
Mon 10 Apr 9am Matin; 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Tues 11 Apr 9am Matin; 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Wed 12 Apr 9am Matin; 5pm Divine Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
Thu 13 Apr 9am Matin; 5pm Liturgy of the Great and Holy Thursday (the Institution of the Eucharist)
Fri 14 Apr 9am Matin (12 Gospels of the Passion); 1pm Vesper (service of the taking down of Christ’s body from the cross); 6pm Matin of the Great and Holy Saturday (the burial of Christ)
Sat 15 Apr 9am Liturgy of the Great and Holy Saturday ; 11.30pm Midnight Service+Matin+Paschal Liturgy (Easter night) CHRIST IS RISEN!
Sun 16 Apr 5pm Vesper
Mon 17 Apr 10am Divine Liturgy of Children’s Paschal, Bright Monday
Wed 19 Apr 5pm Akathist
Sat 22 Apr 5pm Vigil (see an exceptional time!)
Sun 23 Apr 10am Divine liturgy (multilingual)
Wed 26 Apr 5am Moleben (Service of Supplication)

May:

Wed 3 May 5pm Vesper
Sat 6 May 9am Divine litugy (church slavonic)
Wed 10 May 9am Divine liturgy liturgia (Mid-Pentecost, i.e. Midfeast of the Pascha); 5pm Panikhida (Memorial Service of the Departed)
Wed 17 May 5pm Akathist
Sat 20 May 6pm Vigil (multilingual)
Sun 21 May 10am Divine liturgy (multilingual)
Wed 24 May 6pm Vigil
Thu 25 May 9am Divine Liturgy (the Ascension of Christ)
Wed 31 May 5pm Vesper

Holy Cross Cemetery Chapel
Joensuu Orthodox Cemetery (Corner of Rauhankatu and Nurmeksentie)

Mon 24 Apr 6pm Vesper and Litany for the Departed
Tues 25 Apr 9am Divine liturgy and Litany for the Departed, Tuesday of St Thomas (”Radonitsa”), commemoration of the departed
Fri 2 June 6pm Vesper and Litany for the Departed
Sat 3 June 9pm Divine liturgy and Litany for the Departed, Saturday of souls, commemoration of the departed

Orthodox Seminary – St John the Theologian and Enlighters of Karelia Church
Address: Torikatu 41
The Orthodox Seminary is the institute of the the Orthodox Church of Finland. Services are open to the public.

During the Academic Year (Except the Feasts):
Mon–Fri 7.20am Matin
Wed 7.20am Divine liturgy
Mon–Thur 5pm Vesper
The Paschal Triduum (the Great and Holy Week) of the Orthodox Seminary is rich. See further www.ort.fi/seminaari (only in Finnish)

Other Churches or Chapels (with own schedules)

Northern District:
Lieksa: Prophet Elijah Church, Transfiguration of Christ Chapel
Viekijärvi: St Nicholas Chapel
Vuonisjärvi: Dormition of the Theotokos Chapel
Kontiolahti: Ascension of Christ Church
Eno: Transfiguration of Christ Chapel
Sikrenvaara (Summer camp): Holy Enlighteners of Karelia Chapel
Lontsinniemi: Icon of the Mother of God of Konevitsa Chapel (private)

Eastern District:
Hoilola: St Nicholas Church
Sonkajanranta: Prophet Hannah Church
Tuupovaara: Icon of Christ Not-Made-By-Hands
Heinävaara: Icon of Christ Not-Made-By-Hands
Saarivaara: Transfiguration of Christ Chapel
Kovero: St Herman of Alaska Chapel

Southern District:
Kitee: St Nectarios Church
Honkavaara: St John the Baptist Chapel
Valkeavaara: St George Victory-bearer Chapel
Petravaara: St Andreas Chapel

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Comments are closed.